Skip navigation

“A thunderous rumble like the sound of thousands of stampeding cattle passed directly overhead, pounding the trench line. Accompanying the roar was an intense pressure that pushed me downward. The shock wave was traveling at nearly four hundred miles per hour, pushed toward us by the immense energy of the explosion. The earth began to gyrate violently, and I could not control my body. Overcome by fear, I opened my eyes. I saw that I was being showered with dust, dirt, rocks, and debris so thick that some evil force was attempting to swallow my body and soul. The metallic taste in my mouth was foul and would not go away.”

– Rebecca Solnit, Savage Dreams

Leave a Reply

